Quick Links

Useful Links

Together we succeed

National Curriculum

The current National Curriculum for Primary Schools was introduced in September 2014.

The changes made in it from the previous curriculum affected all areas with children expected to reach higher standards in English and Maths.

The National Curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary so children learn the same things.  It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.  The National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS).  

English Curriculum

There is an increased emphasis on the technical aspects of language.

The curriculum is set out year by year in Key Stage 1 and two-yearly in Key Stage 2.  There is specific content to be covered in the areas of spelling and vocabulary, grammar and punctuation.

Phonics is taught using the Letters and Sounds scheme.  Reading is taught using the Oxford Reading Tree Scheme.

Maths Curriculum

The main areas in the Mathematics curriculum are:

  • number (place value, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and fractions including decimals and percentages);
  • measurement; geometry (properties of shapes and position and direction);
  • statistics;
  • ratio & proportion and
  • algebra.

Every year group has its own programme of study detailing what the children should be able to achieve in each area.

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6

Developing your child's Mental Maths Skills

Science Curriculum

The curriculum for Science puts a greater focus on acquiring scientific knowledge and less emphasis on developing scientific skills and understanding.


In Key Stage 1 children learn about the lives of significant people.

In Key Stage 2 there is an emphasis on developing chronology with the children studying history up to 1066. There are also special studies which will extend their knowledge and understanding beyond 1066.


The curriculum aims to ensure that children:

  • understand the basic principles of computer science (programming/coding);
  • become digitally literate;
  • can recognise and use a range of information technologies in and beyond school and that they understand how to use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly, identifying and reporting concerns.


PSHE, including Relationship and Health Education (RSE)

PSHE education aims to build, where appropriate, on the statutory content already outlined in the national curriculum, the basic school curriculum and in statutory guidance on: drug education, financial education, relationship and sex education (RSE) and the importance of physical activity and diet for a healthy lifestyle.

Between September 2020 and June 2021 schools are required to introduce a new PSHE curriculum. The Department for Education have stated that all schools must consult parents/carers on the new statutory guidance relating to PSHE, including RSE, and its implementation within their school. To access our school's Parent and Carers PSHE information please click on the link:

Parents and Carers information PSHE Matters

Modern Foreign Languages

Throughout Key Stage 2 children are taught French.

The aim is to ensure that children express their ideas and thoughts in another language and to understand and respond to its speakers, both in speech and in writing.


From September 2014, schools have been developing their systems of assessments to run alongside the expectations in each subject.

Schools will continue to provide regular information to parents.

The programmes of study for each subject can be found at:


KS1 Curriculum at Beaufort Primary School

Click the following links for the KS1 curriculum overview.

Y1-2 Planning Overview 2021-22

KS2 Curriculum at Beaufort Primary School

Click the following links for the KS2 curriculum overview.

Y3-4 Planning Overview 2021-22

Y5-6 Planning Overview 2021-22