Quick Links

Useful Links

Together we succeed

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years is the beginning of a child’s journey through school. 

Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. 

They actively reach out to interact with other people and to explore the world around them. 

Within the Foundation setting (Nursery and Reception) it is recognised that there are three Prime Areas of learning which underpin the specific areas of learning.

Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language.

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

All learning takes into consideration the Characteristics of Effective Learning which allows the children to become independent learners:

Characteristics of Effective Learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and thinking critically.

Children are continually assessed, e.g. through Tapestry, our online learning journal.  At the end of the Reception Year, children are assessed against the Early Learning Goals.

For further information about the EYFS please see:


Nursery Overview 2020-2021

Nursery Autumn 1 2020 Marvellous Me

Nursery Autumn 2 2020 Celebrations

Nursery Summer 1 2021 Our World

Reception Overview 2020-2021

Reception Autumn 1 2020 All About Me

Reception Autumn 2 2020 Journeys

Reception Summer 1 2021 Light and Dark