Quick Links

Useful Links

Together we succeed


Assessment at Beaufort Primary School

The current National Curriculum was introduced in September 2014. 

This was part of the government’s initiative to improve the level of academic attainment of children in many areas of the curriculum. As a result, the standard of knowledge, skills and understanding has been raised. Additionally, there has been a greater focus on broadening children’s learning and ensuring they are ‘secure’ in their new skills.  As a school, we assess your child’s learning as an ongoing process.  We do this by using different forms of assessment: in-school formative assessment, which is used by the teachers to evaluate children’s knowledge and understanding on a day to day basis; in-school summative assessment, which enables schools to evaluate how much a child has learnt at the end of a teaching period.

Life without Levels

Following the introduction of the aforementioned National Curriculum, a new method of assessing progress was introduced to replace the old ‘levels’.

The reason the government have given for the change is that too often levels became viewed as thresholds and teaching became focused on getting children across the next threshold instead of ensuring they were secure in the knowledge and understanding defined in the programmes of study.  Depth and breadth of understanding were sometimes sacrificed in favour of pace.

The benefit of assessment without levels

Assessment without levels has given the school the opportunity to develop our own approaches to assessment that focus on teaching and learning and are tailored to the curriculum followed by our school.

We have produced our own assessment system to support more informative and productive conversations with children and parents.  By no longer grouping children according to levels, teachers can give more focus to providing children with feedback which clarifies those aspects of the curriculum where their knowledge and understanding is secure and those areas where there are gaps.  The National Curriculum is founded on the principle that teachers should ensure children have a secure understanding of key ideas and concepts before moving onto the next phase of learning.

Different types of assessment

  • Day to day in-school formative assessment
  • Question and answer during class
  • Marking of children’s work
  • Observational assessment
  • In school summative assessment
  • End of year exams
  • Short end of topic or unit tests
  • Reviews for pupils with SEN and disabilities
  • Nationally standardized summative assessment
  • National Curriculum tests at the end of Key Stage 1 &2

National Curriculum assessments

Pupils at the end Year 2 and Year 6 will take part in National Curriculum assessments.

You will be informed as to whether your child has reached the expected standard or whether they have gained a greater depth of knowledge.

Teacher assessment at Beaufort Primary School

Each year the children will have a new set of age related requirements for each subject, to complete in order to achieve the ‘National Standard’ for their year group.

Teachers will be required to give data for their class in December, March and July to ensure that children are on track to make good progress.

End of year judgements

At Beaufort we appreciate that each child is an individual and will work at different stages within the National Standard.

To recognise these differences we have created stages within the National Standard so as to give an accurate and fair assessment.

Below are the different strands which your child will be assessed against:

Below = pupils working significantly below the National Standard will work at an appropriate year group level.

Otherwise, most pupils will work within their age-related National Standard.

The stages within the National Standards are:

  • Working towards (WT) = working just below age-related National Standard
  • Emerging (E) = has a solid understanding of between 33%-66% of the content of the National Standard.  A child working at the top end of this stage (50%-66%) would be judged as Emerging plus or E+
  • Developing (D) = a solid understanding of between 67%-89% of the National Standard.  A child working at the top end of this stage (75%-89%) would be judged as Developing plus or D+
  • Secure (S) = a secure understanding of between 90%-100% of the National Standard
  • Exceeding (Ex) = a complete understanding of the National Standard plus 50% of the exceeding objectives

If you wish to discuss this information further, please contact Phil Harris (Assessment Coordinator).